Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Yoke in xp11 beta 9
01-29-2017, 09:50 PM
Post: #1
Yoke in xp11 beta 9
Hellooo,
i wasn't able to calibrate the iris yoke via the xplane11 setup in the controlls tab ("calibrate iris dynamics yoke").

The Yoke is shown, but the axis doesnt work (just red lines are shown). This happens using xpforce or not, same result. Result is i cant use it at all.

The yoke is working in p3d and was working in xp10.

And ideas, tipps or workarounds?

Thanks & greetings from John
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2017, 12:19 PM
Post: #2
RE: Yoke in xp11 beta 9
(01-29-2017 09:50 PM)raex Wrote:  Hellooo,
i wasn't able to calibrate the iris yoke via the xplane11 setup in the controlls tab ("calibrate iris dynamics yoke").

The Yoke is shown, but the axis doesnt work (just red lines are shown). This happens using xpforce or not, same result. Result is i cant use it at all.

The yoke is working in p3d and was working in xp10.

And ideas, tipps or workarounds?

Thanks & greetings from John
Make sure the yoke has not gone to sleep.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2017, 04:15 PM
Post: #3
RE: Yoke in xp11 beta 9
Thanks for answering!

With the help from Laminar the thing now works. There was a conflict with another usb device (a usb arcaze interface. Strange world.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-04-2017, 02:18 AM
Post: #4
RE: Yoke in xp11 beta 9
I'm really hoping Iris Dynamics are looking at coding a software equivalent to the Brunner CLS2Sim software. Pretty much all that is missing from this remarkable product.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2017, 02:36 AM
Post: #5
RE: Yoke in xp11 beta 9
Greetings,

We're at a bit of a crossroads here. We can't get the trim to behave correctly on XPlane 11. The centring point does not move when trim is applied, or in response to forces acting on control surfaces.

We've been using our Iris yoke with FSX using the FSForce plugin for some time, with great results.
The key features important to us when training cadets on this unit (and the reason we chose the Iris Dynamics Yoke) are because of the realistic feel when trimming the aircraft, and the realistic control feel during stalls, slow flight, takeoff-roll, landing, etc. In FSX these worked great.

We're trying out XPlane 11, which proves to be a much easier simulator to customize to our needs.

If the centre position does not properly adjust with trim commands, or if XPForce intercepts those commands, then it seems we've essentially got a really expensive spring yoke on our hands with some "resistance" and "stick shaking" built in, rather than a true force-feedback unit. If pressures on the control surfaces (like a trim tab impacts the downward or upward force on an elevator) does not move the yoke accordingly, like it did in FSX, then we're not getting the same level of realism we've become accustomed to.

If anyone knows how to sort this out, please let me know.
Cheers,
-Rob
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Today, 06:19 AM
Post: #6
RE: Yoke in xp11 beta 9
Hey,
maybe try using the yoke in standalone mode. That is maybe the only way to get the trim & centering point working. Look at this thread: https://forums.irisdynamics.com/showthread.php?tid=131

Its a shame: fs2force and a2a planes on the side of pd3 and xp11 is great in every other aspect...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)